
By Family Court Facilitators
Eric Burton 

Nicolle Rugh
Michael Vigil

Cecilia Wall



 You are here to complete your court ordered 
Initial Status Conference.  

 All Dissolution of Marriage, Dissolution of 
Civil Union, Legal Separation, Allocation of 
Parental Responsibilities, Invalidity of 
Marriage & Invalidity of Civil Union cases 
must complete an Initial Status Conference 
within 42 days of the filing of the case.  



 Order and Notice of ISC
◦ Case Management Order (FCF 400).
◦ Both are orders of the court signed by a judge.
◦ Parties are required to comply with both orders.

 Your case will be set for an internal review about 
45 days out from today’s date.  This is for the 
court to check the status of your case and see if 
you have complied with the orders.

 Your case can be delayed or dismissed if you do 
not comply with the orders.

 Temporary Orders Hearing – Can be requested by 
either party.  This is a hearing where orders can 
be put in place until your Final  Orders Hearing.  



 An Initial Status Conference Order that 
outlines specific due dates for your 
case. (Sent through regular mail or 
efiling)

 An email w/forms required to 
complete your case and procedural 
instructions to move case forward

 FCF contact information – Email is 
Best! 



 Rule 4 of the Colorado Rules of Civil 
Procedure requires that meaningful notice be 
provided to the other party:
1. Co-Petitioner Filing: Petition signed by both 

parties.

2. Waiver & Acceptance of Service:  Signed by the 
Respondent.

3. Proof or Return of Service Form:  Completed and 
signed by the server.

4. Publication by Consolidated Notice:  When the 
other party cannot be located for service.



 Once served, the Respondent has 21 days (if 
served in Colorado) or 35 days (if served out of 
Colorado) to file a Response to the Petition.  

 The Response to the Petition lets the court and 
the other party know what you are objecting to 
and what orders you are asking for.

 Filing Fee:  $116 is charged to the Respondent 
on first responsive pleading.

 Fee waiver/payment plan available upon 
approval.



 Each party is REQUIRED to file their own Sworn 
Financial Statement (JDF 1111 and Supporting 
Schedule JDF 1111SS).  This form must include a 
FULL disclosure of your current financial situation 
– no matter what your agreements are.  

 Each party must also comply with the Mandatory 
Disclosures (16.2) by completing the exchange of 
financial documentation with each other and 
filing the Certificate of Compliance (JDF 1104) 
with the court.



 File complete JDF 
1111

 Not requesting 
maintenance

 Not pregnant/no 
minor children and 
neither supports a 
minor

 Marital assets below 
$100,000

 No pension/trust, 
separate property 
interests exceeding 
$10,000

 Combined debt 
minus mortgage is 
less than $50,000

 ALL MUST APPLY!!



 A copy of the Spousal Support Advisement will be 
attached to your ISC Order and emailed to you. 
Please sign, date, and file with court (even if not 
requesting it) to acknowledge you received a copy.

 It is up to the parties to READ and CALCULATE the 
guideline amount as directed.

 This is ONLY a GUIDELINE as to support amounts 
and length of payments.

 Download the free Family Law Software to assist 
with calculations. (Optional for maintenance, but 
encouraged)



 In Dissolution of Marriage or Civil Union, Legal 
Separation, or Invalidity of Marriage cases, a 
Property and Financial Agreement (JDF 1115) is 
required, telling the court how your things will be 
divided. This form will become a court order, and 
enforceable once your decree is entered.

 If you have a full agreement, you file the form with 
BOTH of your non electronic signatures, if you do 
not have a full agreement, you each prepare your 
own with how you want things to go. 



 A Parenting Plan (Form JDF 1113) tells the court how you 
and the other party will parent your child(ren) (regular 
parenting time, holiday parenting time, decision-making, 
etc.), and how you will financially support them.

 If you and the other party agree on all issues, you file a 
Parenting Plan in your case with BOTH non electronic 
signatures.  This form will become a court order, and 
enforceable once your case is completed.

 If you and the other party do not agree on issues, you 
prepare your own Parenting Plan letting the court know how 
you want it to decide all issues regarding your child(ren).

 The Child Support Worksheet is required for ALL cases 
involving children under the age of 19 – unless there is 
already an existing child support order from the court.

 Download the free Family Law Software to complete the     
worksheet. (MANDATORY for child support)



 Must be completed by all parties involved in a 
case involving children under the age of 18.

 Go to www.coloradojudicial.gov/el-paso-
county/forms-el-paso-county

 Classes will require a fee (some may have fee 
waiver options)

 Once class is complete, make sure to file your 
certificate of completion with the court. 

http://www.coloradojudicial.gov/el-paso-county/forms-el-paso-county
http://www.coloradojudicial.gov/el-paso-county/forms-el-paso-county


 Mediation is an intervention by a trained neutral third party with the 
purpose of assisting two or more individuals to reach their own solutions.

 Mediation is MANDATORY in your case when you do not have a full 
agreement on ALL issues.  If you and the other party have disputed issues 
and you do not complete mediation, your case may be delayed or 
dismissed.  

 Parties are encouraged to set mediation as soon as possible. You do not 
have to reach an agreement at mediation.  Any issues not resolved will be 
decided by the judge at your contested hearing.

 You may use the Office of Dispute Resolution (ODR).  ODR charges $150 
per person, unless your income qualifies you for a fee reduction (JDF 211). 
Mediation fees must be paid directly to the mediator at least 10 days prior 
to your scheduled date.  Mediation can also be done privately – they would 
set their own schedule and fees. 

 ODR Mediation is virtual, but please let your Family Court Facilitator know 
if you have safety concerns or issues related to domestic violence and do 
not feel it is appropriate for your case.  You can file to ask the court to 
waive the requirement. (JDF 1307 and 1308)

Questions regarding Mediation:  www.coloradojudicial.gov/court-
services/office-dispute-resolution

http://www.coloradojudicial.gov/court-services/office-dispute-resolution
http://www.coloradojudicial.gov/court-services/office-dispute-resolution


 The goal of ENA is to move families through court as quickly, fairly and 
inexpensively as possible.  Early agreements tend to benefit the children.  If 
parties come to an agreement during the session, they can see their judge on the 
same day. Most cases come to a full agreement during the ENA session and 
receive temporary orders and/or complete their case that day. Statutory 
requirements (waiting period) still apply. 

 Our 4th Judicial ENA Team consists of 2 child and family experts (a licensed 
clinical social worker, an attorney) and YOU.

 ENA is a great alternative for cases where both parents have the child’s best 
interest at heart but have not yet come to an agreement regarding parenting time 
and decision making.  

 ENA is not a good fit for cases with disputed issues regarding property and 
finances. It is not for parties with safety concerns.

 If you are interested, your Family Court Facilitator will refer you to the ENA team 
to discuss screening, scheduling and payment/waiver of fees. 



DO DO NOT

 Do help parties work 
together to come to their 
own agreements.

 Do provide neutral, 
impartial, professional, 
and confidential services.

 Do not represent 
either party, provide 
legal advice, or make 
decisions about the 
outcome of your 
case.

 Do not assist you 
with completing  any 
forms that you need 
to file for your case.



 It is your responsibility to notify the court of any 
change of contact info. 

 Your contact information 

can be changed by filing the 

Contact Info Change form (JDF 1312)

 Social Security #’s are needed to enter support 
orders and are kept access restricted to the public.  



 Children are not allowed in ANY court 
proceeding.  FREE childcare is provided 
(based upon availability and health of the 
child) through Court Care for children ages 
6 weeks to 14 years old. Located in room 
S140.



 Hand Delivery:  Room S-101 open M-F from 7:30am to 4:30pm.  
Bring your original + 2 copies (single sided documents only).  

 Mailing to the Courthouse:  Requires the Original + 2 copies of 
each document (single sided documents only).  Include 2 self-
addressed stamped envelopes (one addressed to each party).  
The court will keep the original, date stamp and send back the 
copies for your proof of filing.

 Address:  El Paso County Judicial Building
Attn: Room S-101
270 S. Tejon St. 
Colorado Springs, CO 80903



 Hand Delivery:  Open M-F from 8:00am to 4:00pm.  Bring your 
original + 2 copies (single sided documents only).  

 Mailing to the Courthouse:  Requires the Original + 2 copies 
(single sided documents only).  Include  2 self-addressed 
stamped envelopes (one addressed to each party).  The court will 
keep the original, date stamp and mail back the copies for proof 
of filing.

 Address: Teller County Courthouse
101 W. Bennett Ave.
P.O. Box 997
Cripple Creek, CO 80813



 One-time opt-in fee of $12.00
◦ This creates a Colorado Courts E-Filing (CCE) account. 
◦ Once your account is created, you can check the status 

of your case online and view filings.

 Per Submission Fee - $12.00 
◦ This is charged each time you file.  You can file multiple 

forms under one submission.
◦ There are additional fees for mailing forms to the other 

side, etc.

 None of the fees are refundable.
 No fee waivers for electronic filings. For more 

information, visit: 
https://www.coloradojudicial.gov/e-filing-non-
attorneys

https://www.coloradojudicial.gov/e-filing-non-attorneys
https://www.coloradojudicial.gov/e-filing-non-attorneys


 Email is the best way to reach me going forward. 
Please allow at least 48 business hours before 
sending follow up/duplicate email 

 PLEASE just “reply” back to original email I send and 
all future emails if possible! This will help get a 
quicker response from time saved looking up case 
number and what was discussed previously (900+ 
emails a month) - eric.burton@judicial.state.co.us

 You may also contact our office at 719.452.5104 to 
schedule a 15 min phone appointment during the FCF 
Access Hours.  

mailto:eric.burton@judicial.state.co.us

	Initial Status Conference�C.R.C.P.16.2
	Why Are you Here?
	ISC Overview &                        Case Management Order
	After the ISC you will receive:�
	Meaningful Notice to �the Other Party/Service�	
	Filing a Response & Fees
	Sworn Financial Statement  �& Financial Disclosures
	Waiving Disclosures (JDF 1372)
	Spousal/Partner Support Advisement
	Property and Financial Agreement�(JDF 1115) 
	Parenting Plan (JDF 1113) & �Child Support Worksheet	
	Required Level 1 �Parenting Class
	Mediation Requirement
	Another Mediation Option:�ENA Is Entirely Child Focused
	�Mediators �
	Change of Contact Info�and �Social Security Numbers Required
	Court Care �(EL PASO COUNTY)
	How to file Paperwork�EL PASO COUNTY
	How to file Paperwork�TELLER COUNTY
	Pro Se E-Filing �
	Additional Assistance

