FOURTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT January 2025 Nominating Commission Overview

Updated January 25, 2025

The Fourteenth Judicial District is situated in the northwest corner of the State, and includes Grand, Moffat and Routt counties. The Combined Court and Probation Department offices are located in Hot Sulphur Springs, Craig and Steamboat Springs. Population estimates (2023) provided by the Colorado Department of Local Affairs are as follows:

Grand County: 15,971 Moffat County: 13,317 Routt County: 25,064

The District is served by three full-time district court judges, three part-time county court judges, and three part-time Magistrates:

- Brittany A. Schneider, Chief Judge, District Judge
- Billy-George Hertzke, District Judge, Water Judge
- Mary C. Hoak, District Judge, Alternate Water Judge
- Nicholas Catanzarite, Grand County Judge (.65 FTE)
- James H. Hesson, Moffat County Judge (.70 FTE)
- Erin R. Wilson, Routt County Judge (.85 FTE)
- William L. Herringer, Magistrate (.25 FTE)
- John Scott, Magistrate (.25 FTE)
- Jennifer M. Wright, Magistrate (.50 FTE)
- Daniel Birch, Water Referee (.40 FTE)

The District is home to Colorado Water Division 6, which includes most of Moffat, Routt, Jackson and Rio Blanco counties. A Water Referee assists the Water Judge in the disposition of these cases. The District also hosts a multi-District Bond Hearing Office that conducts bond hearings on weekends and some holidays. Two part-time Magistrates serve the Bond Hearing Office.

Judge Hertzke presides over an Adult Offender Treatment Court in Routt County. Judge Schneider presides over an Adult Offender Treatment Court in Moffat County.

A large district in geographic terms, the distance between the Grand County Combined Court and the Routt County Combined Court is 70 miles and requires the crossing of a major mountain pass (either Rabbit Ears or Gore); a one-way trip averages 90 minutes in good weather. The distance between the Routt County Combined Court and the Moffat County Combined Court is 41 miles and a one-way trip requires just under one hour in good weather. One-way travel between the Grand County Combined Court and the Moffat County Combined Court requires nearly two and one-half hours in good weather (111 miles). Winter travel conditions are often severe and lengthen travel times considerably.

Case filing statistics for the Fourteenth Judicial District are available on the Colorado Judicial Branch Web site: www.courts.state.co.us

DISTRICT COURT

CHIEF JUDGE: Brittany A. Schneider

DATE SWORN IN AS DISTRICT JUDGE: January 1, 2024

RETAINED: Provisional term

EXPIRATION DATE OF CURRENT TERM: January, 2027

DISTRICT JUDGE: Billy-George Hertzke

DATE SWORN IN AS DISTRICT JUDGE: January 14, 2025

RETAINED: Provisional term

EXPIRATION DATE OF CURRENT TERM: January, 2029

DISTRICT JUDGE: Mary C. Hoak

DATE SWORN IN AS DISTRICT JUDGE: July 5, 2007

RETAINED: November 2022 General Election

EXPIRATION DATE OF CURRENT TERM: January, 2029

COUNTY COURT

GRAND COUNTY JUDGE: Nicholas Catanzarite

DATE SWORN IN AS COUNTY JUDGE: January 13, 2015

RETAINED: November 2022 General Election

EXPIRATION DATE OF CURRENT TERM: January, 2027

MOFFAT COUNTY JUDGE: James H. Hesson

DATE SWORN IN AS COUNTY JUDGE: February 12, 2024

RETAINED: Provisional Term

EXPIRATION DATE OF CURRENT TERM: January, 2027

ROUTT COUNTY JUDGE: Erin R. Wilson

DATE SWORN IN AS COUNTY JUDGE: March 7, 2022

RETAINED: November 2024 General Election

EXPIRATION DATE OF CURRENT TERM: January, 2029

For more information, please do not hesitate to contact Peggy Gentles, Court Executive, at 970-870-2334.