THE COLORADO SUPREME COURT'S WATER COURT COMMITTEE

On Dec. 4, 2007, Chief Justice Mary Mullarkey signed an order authorizing the establishment of the Water Court Committee of the Colorado Supreme Court. Justice Greg Hobbs was appointed to chair the committee.

The Water Court Committee was formed as a result of input from several organizations, and formal reports issued by some of those organizations, suggesting that the Supreme Court examine possible methods of streamlining water court processes.

MISSION

The Water Court Committee is charged with reviewing the water court process; identifying possible ways through rule and/or statutory change to achieve efficiencies in water court cases while still protecting quality outcomes; and ensuring the highest level of competence in water court participants.

MORE INFORMATION

Updates on the work of the committee and materials may be found online: <u>http://www.courts.state.co.us/supct/co</u> <u>mmittees/waterctcomm.htm</u>

OUTREACH TO WATER USERS

The Water Court Committee members want to hear input from you. From agricultural, municipal, business, environmental, recreational groups, and all other organizations interested, as well as attorneys, engineers and court judicial officers and staff members.

The committee is soliciting ideas for reducing the expense and burden of the water court process and improving the emergency procedures for review of water court applications. The committee is interested in hearing about the most critical factors for successful and cost-effective outcomes with respect to the water court process

The committee's objective is to establish a solid understanding of what each group believes to be the most critical factors regarding water issues with respect to the water court process.

The input provided should include insight on what groups believe the state's water courts are doing well, and could improve upon, in terms of process and procedure. Please send us your comments, suggestion, ideas and experiences by March 3, 2008 to Rob McCallum at:

robert.mccallum@judicial.state.co.us

SURVEY

As another means to gather input a brief online survey is being made available. The survey consists of a short questionnaire and also provides the ability to submit written comments. If you would like to participate in the survey, please contact one of the committee members listed below.

PUBLIC INPUT MEETING

In addition to the opportunity to submit written comments, the Water Court Committee as a whole will be holding a formal public input meeting on March 10, 2008, from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m. in the Colorado Judicial Building; 2 E. 14th Ave. 5th Floor, Denver, CO 80203

To be considered for the agenda, a summary of the content of remarks must be filed in writing with the State Court Administrator's Office to the attention of Rob McCallum, public information officer, via email at: <u>robert.mccallum@judicial.state.co.us</u> no later than March 3, 2008.

USER OUTREACH CONTACTS

Jim Witwer, Chair, jwitwer@troutlaw.com Jennifer Gimbel, Jennifer.Gimbel@state.co.us Robert Sakata, <u>rtsakata@aol.com</u> Bill Trampe, <u>tramperanches@pcrs.net</u> Steve Witte, <u>Steve.Witte@state.co.us</u> Dick Wolfe, <u>Dick.Wolfe@state.co.us</u>

Water Court Committee Members:

- Justice Greg Hobbs (Chair)
- Water Judge O. John Kuenhold
- Water Referee Lain Leoniak
- Justice Michael L. Bender
- State Court Administrator Jerry Marroney
- Retired Water Judge Rebecca Kourlis
- Ms. Casey Shpall, Office of the Colorado Attorney General
- Ms. Alexandra Davis, Deputy Director for Water, Colorado Department of Natural Resources
- Mr. Dick Wolfe, State Water Engineer
- Mr. Steve Witte, Division Engineer, Water Division No. 2
- Ms. Jennifer Gimbel, Executive Director, Colorado Water Conservation Board
- Mr. Robert Sakata, water rights owner and user
- Mr. Bill Trampe, water rights owner and user
- Mr. Doug Clements, practicing water engineer
- Mr. Hal Simpson, practicing water engineer
- Ms. Sherry Caloia, water attorney
- Mr. Mark Hermundstad, water attorney
- Mr. Andy Jones, water attorney
- Mr. David Robbins, water attorney
- Mr. Michael Shimmin, water attorney
- Mr. Jim Witwer, water attorney

YOUR OPINION MATTERS & THE STATE'S WATER COURTS WANT TO HEAR FROM YOU!

