JDF 1267



How to Guide for Civil Union Divorce (with kids)

These standard instructions are for informational purposes only and do not constitute legal advice about your case. If you choose to represent yourself, you are bound by the same rules and procedures as an attorney. When you file your case the Court may provide you with a Case Management Order and other information about the procedures to be followed. Please review that information carefully.

GENERAL INFORMATION

- ◆ This information provides a guide to the forms necessary to obtain a Dissolution of Civil Union or Legal Separation of Civil Union with children of this Civil Union.
- ♦ If you are trying to dissolve a common-law marriage, do not use forms for dissolution of civil union. You will need to use the forms for dissolution of marriage (divorce).
- ◆ Your case should be filed in the county where you or the Co-Petitioner/Respondent reside, or where the Civil Union Certificate was issued.
- ♦ Either party must reside in Colorado for at least 91 days prior to the filing of the Petition, or if neither party resides in Colorado, the civil union must have been obtained in Colorado.
- ◆ The children must reside in Colorado for a minimum of 182 consecutive days prior to the filing date or since birth if under six months of age. If this time requirement is not met at the time of filing, issues regarding the children cannot be addressed as part of the dissolution/legal separation of civil union case.
- ◆ An automatic temporary injunction will be in effect upon the filing of a Co-Petition, upon service of the Petition and Summons on the Respondent, or upon the signing of a Waiver and Acceptance of Service by the Respondent. The temporary injunction will be in effect until the Decree is entered or until further Court Order. The purpose of the injunction is to prevent the transfer of property, discontinuation of insurance coverage, etc. without the consent of the other party.
- ♦ If there are matters or issues that you and your partner cannot resolve, mediation or other forms of alternative dispute resolution may be an option. For more information, call the State Office of Dispute Resolution at (720) 625-5940 or check with your local Court to obtain information on local mediators.
- ◆ There is a mandatory 91-day waiting period before the Court can enter the dissolution/legal separation decree. If you and your partner sign the same Petition and file as "Petitioner and Co-Petitioner", the 91 day period begins on the date the papers are filed with the Court. However, if one of you files a Petition for Dissolution of Civil Union or Legal Separation of Civil Union and then serves the other partner with a copy, the 91-day period begins on the date the Petition is served. Your dissolution/legal separation will take at least 91 days, and may take longer, depending on the circumstances of your case and court schedules.
- ♦ If after the Petition is filed you change your mind about the dissolution of civil union or legal separation of civil union, you must notify the Court immediately and file a Stipulated Motion to Dismiss (JDF 1305). If all of your paperwork is filed and you do not file for a dismissal, you may find that your civil union is dissolved or that you are legally separated even though you and your partner have reconciled.
- ◆ For additional information, please review Colorado Revised Statutes §14-10-101, et.seg and §14-15-115.
- ♦ If you have a disability and need a reasonable accommodation to access the courts, please contact your local ADA Coordinator. Contact information can be obtained from the following website:

http://www.courts.state.co.us/Administration/HR/ADA/Coordinator List.cfm

COMMON TERMS

A legally recognized relationship between two eligible persons regardless of the gender of either person. A civil union is not a

marriage, however, once properly established, two persons who enter into a civil union are entitled to receive the benefits and protections, and be subject to the same responsibilities as spouses in a marriage. Please review §14-15-104, 105, and 106, C.R.S. for the requirements

of a valid civil union.

Petition for Dissolution: Document officially commences the dissolution proceedings by

requesting a Court Order to terminate the civil union and to arrange the terms of allocation of parental responsibilities, child support, division of property and debts, and to award maintenance (partner support), if

applicable.

Document officially commences the legal separation proceeding by

requesting a Court Order to arrange the terms of allocation of parental responsibilities, child support, division of property and debts, and payment of maintenance (partner support), if applicable, for the couple

to live separately.

➣ Petitioner: The person filing the Petition with the Court.

☼ Co-Petitioner: The person filing the Petition with the Court together with the Petitioner.

Respondent: The person served a Petition for Dissolution of Civil Union or Legal Separation of Civil Union who must respond to the allegations of the

Petition in order to have his/her desires considered.

Parental Responsibilities: This term includes both parenting time and decision-making

responsibilities regarding the children. (The term "Custody" is no longer

used.)

Service of Process: The official means by which a party is notified that a document has been

filed against him/her and provided a copy of the document and a description of the person's rights and obligations as a party to the case.

Diligent Efforts: Efforts to locate an individual to complete personal service; including

contacting friends, family, business associates; completing an internet search; and attempting personal service by a process server, police

department or sheriff's office.

Child Family Investigator: A court-appointed individual who will evaluate independently the

issues for the best interest of the child and report his/her findings to

the Court.

Mediation:

A confidential process whereby a trained neutral third party assists

disputing parties to reach their own resolution.

Alternative Dispute Resolution:

A process that allows parties to resolve their dispute without litigating

the matter in court.

Emancipation: Emancipation occurs when the last or only child reaches the age of

19, unless the child is still in high school, in which case support continues until the end of the month following graduation; or until the child(ren) otherwise emancipate as may be determined by the Court. Child support may be changed or amended upon motion of a party when any of the children reach 10 as that the guarant shild support

when any of the children reach 19 so that the overall child support obligation is reduced. See §14-10-115(13), C.R.S. for exceptions.

Shall: In legal terms, "shall" is defined as "required".

If you do not understand this information, please contact an attorney. You may also contact the Family Court Facilitator at your local courthouse, if one is available in your Judicial District.

FEES

The filing fee is \$230.00. If you are unable to pay the filing fee, you must complete the Motion to File without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit (JDF 205) and submit it to the Court along with supporting documentation, e.g. pay stubs, bank statements. Once you submit the completed JDF 205 form and a blank Order (JDF 206), the Court will decide whether you need to pay the filing fee.

The Court may require mediation or parenting classes and may require these fees to be paid upon the filing of the case.

Other fees that a party to the case may encounter are as follows:

Response	\$116.00
Service Fees	Varies (not payable through or to the Court)
Certification Fee	\$20.00
Copies of Documents (Documents on File)	\$.75 per page or \$1.50 if double sided
Copies of Documents (Documents not on File)	\$.25 per page or \$.50 if double sided

FORMS

To access a form online go to www.courts.state.co.us and click on the "Forms" Tab. The packet/forms are available in PDF, WORD or EXCEL by selecting Divorce, Family Matters, Civil Unions – Civil Union (Dissolution) - Dissolution or Legal Separation WITH Children. You may complete a form online and print or you may print it and type or print legibly in black ink.

You may need all or some of these forms. Read these instructions carefully to determine what forms you may need.

Ц	JDF 1000	Case Information Sheet
	JDF 1250	Petition for Dissolution of Civil Union or Legal Separation
	JDF 1251	Summons for Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation
	JDF 1252	Response
	JDF 1104	Certificate of Compliance with Mandatory Financial Disclosures
	JDF 1111	Sworn Financial Statement
	JDF 1113	Parenting Plan
	JDF 1115	Property and Financial Agreement
	JDF 1257	Decree of Dissolution of Civil Union or Legal Separation
	JDF 1117	Support Order
	JDF 1120	Notice of Domestic Relations Initial Status Conference
	JDF 1121	Notice of Domestic Relations Status Conference
	JDF 1122	Instructions to Set a Hearing and to Complete a Notice of Hearing or Status Conference
	JDF 1123	Notice to Set Hearing
	JDF 1124	Notice of Hearing
	JDF 1125	Mandatory Disclosure – Form 35.1
	JDF 1126	Court Authorization for Financial Disclosure
	JDF 1129	Pretrial Statement

STEPS TO FILING YOUR CASE

Step 1: Complete Initial Forms.

Selecting these instructions indicates that you are planning on filing for a Dissolution of Civil Union or Legal Separation of Civil Union with Children of this Civil Union. You are filing jointly as Petitioner and Co-Petitioner, or you are filing as Petitioner and naming your partner as "Respondent" if he/she is not agreeable to the Dissolution of Civil Union or Legal Separation of Civil Union. The caption below needs to be completed on all forms filed. **Make sure that you make a copy for your own records of all of the forms you file with the Court.**

	Case Information Sheet (JDF 1000):Please complete all sections of this required form.			
		tion for Dissolution of Civil Union or Legal Separation of Civil Union (JDF 1250): Please complete all sections of this form. This form must be signed either by both parties if filing together or by the party filing the form. If one party desires to have a prior name restored, that person must indicate that fact on the Petition (sections 19 and 20). If the Respondent requests a name change, he or she must file a signed and notarized response requesting the name change.		
		nmons for Dissolution of Civil Union or Legal Separation of Civil Union (JDF 1251): Only complete the Summons if you named your partner the Respondent on the Petition and your partner did not sign the Petition.		
		Complete all sections in the caption and check either Dissolution of Civil Union or Legal Separation of Civil Union in the appropriate box. The Court will date and sign the form when it is filed.		
Step 2	2:	You are Ready to File your Case with the Court.		
		Court with the Petition, Case Information Sheet, and Summons, if applicable. If the Petition has not been will sign the Petition and other documents at this time.		
	Whe may Revi	the \$230.00 filing fee. In you file your Petition, the Court may provide you with a date for an Initial Status Conference or you be required to schedule the conference yourself. It is ew the Court's Case Management Order and other information to determine what you need to do next. It is the information to inform you about the various procedures and timelines.		
Step 3: Serve the Dissolution of Civil Union or Legal Separation of Civil Union Papers only if both parties did not file as Petitioner/Co-Petitioner.				
It is important that you have your partner served as quickly as possible as the mandatory 91 day waiting period will not start until your partner is officially served with the Petition and Summons.				
	The other	e you have filed your Petition, the Court will provide you with a signed summons to serve your partner. Court may require you to provide a copy of the Case Management Order and other information to the r party. u received a date for an Initial Status Conference, you must provide notice to all parties. This conference take place no later than 42 days from the filing of the Petition.		
	Waiv	ver and Acceptance of Service: This is the easiest form of service. However, your partner must be willing to accept the dissolution/legal separation papers and sign the waiver. Have your partner sign the Original Waiver and Acceptance of Service form on the back of the Summons before a Court Clerk or Notary Public.		
	☐ F	File the signed original waiver with the Court.		

	Personal Service: ☐ Select the Sheriff's Department, a private process server, or someone you know over the age of 18 who
	is not involved in the case, and who knows the rules of service to serve the Respondent. Provide the process server with the Petition and Summons.
	The process server will need to return the completed return of service to the Court for filing, or return it to you to bring and file with the Court.
	Service by Mail or Publication:
	If you do not know where your partner is, you will need to use this method of service and should file these forms with the Court as soon as possible.
	 You must make diligent efforts to locate the other party before selecting this option for service. See Instructions JDF 1300 for additional information regarding service by publication. Service by mail or publication shall be allowed only upon approval by the Court. If this process is necessary, complete forms JDF 1301 and 1302.
RESI	PONDENT FILES A RESPONSE
The Re	spondent may file a response to the Petition. Filing fee is \$116.00
The pur	rpose of the response is for the Respondent to state in writing if he/she agrees or disagrees with the information Petition, and mail a copy to the other party. All fees paid are non-refundable.
	The Response form is JDF 1252.
	The Respondent must file the original with the Court a mail a copy to the Petitioner.
	PLETE ADDITIONAL FORMS BEFORE YOUR INITIAL STATUS FERENCE OR AS IDENTIFIED IN THE CASE MANAGEMENT ORDER
sure yo	ms that you may need to finalize your case are identified on the next few pages. Take your time and make but have all current and necessary information to complete the forms accurately, as these forms provide e information to the Court upon which to order allocation of parental responsibilities, child support, division of y and debts, and partner support/maintenance, if applicable.
	Mandatory Disclosure – Form 35.1 (JDF 1125): This form identifies the documents that each party must provide to one another within 42 days after service of the Petition.
	 The documents identified in the Mandatory Disclosure form do not need to be filed with the Court, unless ordered by the Court except for the Sworn Financial Statement and Child Support Worksheets. If a party does not timely provide the Mandatory Disclosures to the other party, the Court may impose sanctions.
П	
_	Certificate of Compliance with Mandatory Financial Disclosures (JDF 1104): The purpose of this form is for each party to acknowledge to the Court that they provided the mandatory disclosure documents to the other party. This form must be filed with the Court within 42 days after the Petition was signed by the other party, the other party signed the Waiver and Acceptance of Service, or the other party was served with the dissolution/legal separation Petition and Summons.
	Each party must complete and file a Certificate of Compliance with the Court when the mandatory disclosures documents have been provided to the other party. If you did not provide all of the mandatory disclosure items, please state why on this form.
	 Complete all sections on this form. Complete the Certificate of Service portion identifying the method selected to provide the other party with
	a copy of this document. Send the other party the information you have identified on the form.
	Sworn Financial Statement (JDF 1111):
_	This document must be filed within 42 days of service on the Respondent or 42 days after filing as

Co-Petitioners. You must provide true and complete information to the Court about your assets, debts, and

 income. You can be assessed a fine or jailed for providing false information. In addition, your case can be reopened due to fraud. Complete and file with the Court a Supporting Schedules for Assets (JDF 1111SS), only if applicable to your case. Each party must complete their own Financial Statement and all sections must be completed. The Financial Statement must contain current personal and financial information to determine whether the Separation Agreement is fair to each party. Failure of a party to file a Sworn Financial Statement may result in a refusal by the Court to enter a Final Decree or the Court may impose sanctions against the party who does not file the required paperwork. The form must be signed in the presence of a Court Clerk or Notary Public.
Parenting Plan (JDF 1113): ☐ Please complete all sections of this form and make sure all issues are addressed. ☐ The Parenting Plan should identify only those parties who will have court-ordered parenting time and
 decision-making responsibilities. Day care/babysitting arrangements do not need to be specifically identified on this form. Please indicate if this is a full or partial parenting plan. If this is a partial parenting plan you or the other party must complete JDF 1129 – Pretrial
Statement. The purpose of this form is for you or the other party to identify to the Court what issues have not been resolved. Each party should re-read the parenting plan to be sure that it accurately represents what you and the
other party have agreed to regarding the children or what you and the other party do not agree to.
nting education classes may be required by the Court. This information should be in the Case anagement Order or other information provided by the Court at the time the Petition is filed.
 Property and Financial Agreement (JDF 1115): The purpose of this form is to identify in writing what issues you and the other party have settled on regarding maintenance (partner support) for either party and for the disposition of property and debt. The Court must follow the separation agreement as it pertains to the parties themselves and to property, unless the Court finds the agreement unconscionable, in which case it may order the parties to submit a revised agreement. Complete all sections of this form either together or individually depending on the level of agreement and make sure all issues are addressed. If any unique situations exist, identify them in section 4 – "Other Terms". Please indicate if this is a full or partial agreement. If this is a partial agreement you or the other party must complete JDF 1129 – Pretrial Statement. The purpose of this form is for you or the other party to identify to the Court the issues that have not been resolved. Each party should re-read this form to ensure that it accurately represents what you and your partner have agreed to.
The purpose of this form is to identify in writing what issues you and the other party have settled on regarding maintenance (partner support) for either party and for the disposition of property and debt. The Court must follow the separation agreement as it pertains to the parties themselves and to property, unless the Court finds the agreement unconscionable, in which case it may order the parties to submit a revised agreement. Complete all sections of this form either together or individually depending on the level of agreement and make sure all issues are addressed. If any unique situations exist, identify them in section 4 – "Other Terms". Please indicate if this is a full or partial agreement. If this is a partial agreement you or the other party must complete JDF 1129 – Pretrial Statement. The purpose of this form is for you or the other party to identify to the Court the issues that have not been resolved. Each party should re-read this form to ensure that it accurately represents what you and your partner have agreed to. Child Support Worksheets: Use the information from each of your Sworn Financial Statements to complete the appropriate worksheet. Automatic Calculation Option: Software for electronically calculating child support based on the new guidelines can be found at www.courts.state.co.us – Go to "Self Help/Forms" > "All Forms and Instructions" >
The purpose of this form is to identify in writing what issues you and the other party have settled on regarding maintenance (partner support) for either party and for the disposition of property and debt. The Court must follow the separation agreement as it pertains to the parties themselves and to property, unless the Court finds the agreement unconscionable, in which case it may order the parties to submit a revised agreement. Complete all sections of this form either together or individually depending on the level of agreement and make sure all issues are addressed. If any unique situations exist, identify them in section 4 – "Other Terms". Please indicate if this is a full or partial agreement. If this is a partial agreement you or the other party must complete JDF 1129 – Pretrial Statement. The purpose of this form is for you or the other party to identify to the Court the issues that have not been resolved. Each party should re-read this form to ensure that it accurately represents what you and your partner have agreed to. Child Support Worksheets: Use the information from each of your Sworn Financial Statements to complete the appropriate worksheet. Automatic Calculation Option: Software for electronically calculating child support based on the new guidelines can be found at www.courts.state.co.us — Go to "Self Help/Forms" > "All Forms and

☐ If you or the Co-Petitioner/Respondent is requesting to have a name changed/restored, please complete this section on the Decree. Identify the restored name you or the Co-Petitioner/Respondent is requesting.
 Support Order (JDF 1117): Complete the caption and the sections about the parties and children. The Magistrate or Judge will complete the remaining sections of the Support Order and give you and your partner a signed copy.
SETTING STATUS CONFERENCE OR HEARING DATES
Please review the Instructions to Set a Hearing and to Complete a Notice of Hearing or Status Conference Form (JDF 1122). It is important to notify the other party of the future status conference or hearing by completing the appropriate forms and sending the other party a copy.
 If the Court has provided you with specific information on how to schedule a status conference or hearing in a Case Management Order you received at the time of filing, follow those procedures. If the Court provided you with a date for a status conference when you filed your petition or at an initial status conference and both parties were not present, follow step 3 only.
DETERMINE THE COURT'S PROCEDURE FOR TEMPORARY ORDERS
Temporary Orders are optional for parties. When you meet with the Family Court Facilitator, Magistrate, or Judge during an Initial Status Conference you should discuss this issue, or you may request the Court to make temporary decisions about property, debts, allocation of parental responsibilities, child support, and partner support/maintenance, if applicable, by requesting a Temporary Orders Hearing. A Motion for Temporary Orders (JDF 1106) can not be filed without prior approval of the Court pursuant to Colorado Rule of Civil Procedure 16.2(c)(4)(B).
COURT HEARING The Judge or Magistrate will grant your dissolution/legal separation by entering an Order/Decree as to division of property, debts, parenting time, child support, and maintenance, if any.
 A short hearing is required if you have children and both parties are not represented by an attorney. You may want to check with the Court to determine if both parties are required to appear. You will receive a copy of the Final Decree and Support Order following the hearing. Provide the Court with a self-addressed stamped envelope to receive a copy of the Order/Decree. If a Court is mandatory e-file, self-addressed stamped envelopes may not be required. If your address has changed since you initially filed your case, please provide this information to the Court in writing.

Notice:

If you filed for a Legal Separation of Civil Union only, and not a Dissolution of Civil Union, §14-10-120(2), C.R.S. and §14-15-107(4), C.R.S. allows for a change/conversion of a Legal Separation of Civil Union to a Dissolution of Civil Union no earlier than 182 days after entry of a Decree of Legal Separation. Upon a motion filed with the Court and proof of service to the other party, the Court can order the change in accordance with the statute. An additional filing fee of \$105.00 is required upon the filing of this motion.