



Colorado Judicial Department Brian D. Boatright, Chief Justice Steven Vasconcellos, State Court Administrator

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Sept. 2, 2022

Contact: Robert McCallum or Jon Sarché
720-625-5815
720-625-5811
robert mccallum@iudicial.state.co.us

robert.mccallum@judicial.state.co.us jon.sarche@judicial.state.co.us

18th Judicial District Court judge finalists selected Governor to appoint two new district court judges

The Eighteenth Judicial District Nominating Commission has nominated six candidates for two district court judgeships created by the retirements of the Hon Frederick T. Martinez and the Hon. Elizabeth Weishaupl. Both vacancies will occur on Jan. 10, 2023. Nominees Christina Apostoli and Angela Boykins, both of Aurora; Robert Caldwell of Centennial; Michelle Jones of Denver; David Karpel of Englewood; and Donna Stewart of Castle Rock were selected by the commission on Sept. 1, 2022.

Under the Colorado Constitution, the governor has 15 days from Sept. 2, 2022, within which to appoint two of the nominees as district court judges for the Eighteenth Judicial District (Arapahoe, Douglas, Elbert and Lincoln counties).

Comments regarding any of the nominees may be sent via e-mail to the governor at gov_judicialappointments@state.co.us

Editor's Note: Contact information for the nominees

- Christina Apostoli, 7325 S. Potomac St., Centennial, CO 80112, 303-645-6655
- Angela Boykins, 1737 Bannock St., Denver, CO 80202, 303-606-2444
- Robert Caldwell Jr., 1600 N. Ogden St., Denver, CO 80218, 303-551-7689
- Michelle Jones, 7325 S. Potomac St., Centennial, CO 80112, 303-645-6699
- David Karpel, 5445 DTC Pkwy., Ste. 600, Greenwood Village, CO 80111, 720-989-4676
- Donna Stewart, 4000 Justice Way, Castle Rock, CO 80109, 720-437-6171