



Colorado Judicial Department Brian D. Boatright, Chief Justice Steven Vasconcellos, State Court Administrator

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 19, 2022

Contact: Robert McCallum or Jon Sarché 720-625-5815 720-625-5811

> robert.mccallum@judicial.state.co.us jon.sarche@judicial.state.co.us

## 18<sup>th</sup> Judicial District Court judge finalists selected Governor to appoint new district court judge

The Eighteenth Judicial District Nominating Commission has nominated three candidates for a district court judgeship vacated by the Honorable David J. Stevens, effective July 1, 2022.

Nominees Benjamin T. Figa of Englewood, David N. Karpel of Englewood, and Donna M.

Stewart of Castle Rock were selected by the commission on May 18, 2022.

Under the Colorado Constitution, the governor has 15 days from May 19, 2022, within which to appoint one of the nominees as district court judge for the Eighteenth Judicial District (Arapahoe, Douglas, Elbert and Lincoln counties).

Comments regarding any of the nominees may be sent via e-mail to the governor at gov\_iudicialappointments@state.co.us

## Editor's Note: Contact information for the three nominees

- Benjamin T. Figa. 6400 S. Fiddlers Green Circle, Suite 1000, Greenwood Village, CO 80111, 303-796-2626
- David N. Karpel, 5445 DTC Parkway, Suite 600, Greenwood Village, CO 80111, 720-989-4676
- Donna M. Stewart, 4000 Justice Way, Castle Rock, CO 80109, 720-437-6171