JDF 1032	Summons		
A. Court District Denver Juvenile Colorado County: Court Address:			
Petitioner &	ent:	This box is for court use only.	
Name: _ Mailing A Phone:_	er's Attorney Information (if any) Bar #: City: St: Zip:	D. Case Details Number: Division: Courtroom:	

1. Family Case

You (the Respondent) are now a part of a court case to resolve a family legal matter.

Along with this summons, you will get a document called a Petition. The Petition will let you know more about the case and what the Petitioner wants the Court to do.

2. Your Next Steps

You must file a written response to that Petition.

- a) You may use form JDF 1035 Response to the Petition.
- b) Forms and resources are found online at [www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/family]
- c) Your response is due within 21 days of receiving this summons.

Note! That deadline extends to 35 days when served outside of Colorado or if notified of the case by publication.

- d) File online at: [www.jbits.courts.state.co.us/efiling]
 Or file by mail or at the courthouse. (The Court's address is in Box A above.)
- e) Pay the filing fee.

Or request a fee waiver. (Use forms JDF 205 and JDF 206)

3. Consequences

If you do not file a Response, the Court may decide the case without your input. You may not receive further notice about court filings and events. You are still required to obey any orders the Court issues.

4. Automatic Court Orders (*Temporary Injunction*)

As soon as you receive this Summons, you must obey these orders:

- a) Do *not* disturb the peace of the other parent or parties in this case.
- b) Do *not* take the children in this case out of the state without permission from the Court and/or the other parent (or party).
- c) Do *not* stop paying, cancel, or make any changes to health, homeowner's, renter's, automobile, or life insurance policies that cover the children or a party in this case or that name a child or a party as a beneficiary.

Exception: You may make changes to insurance coverage if you have written permission from the other parent or party or a court order, and you give at least 14 days' Notice to the other party. C.R.S. §§ 14-10-107, 108.

You must obey these orders until this case is finalized, dismissed, or the Court changes these orders. To request a change, you may use form *JDF 1314 – General Motion*.

5. Note on Genetic Testing

You can request genetic testing. The Court will not hold this request against you when deciding the outcome of the case.

You must do testing and submit the results before the Court establishes who the parents are *(parentage)* and issues final orders. After that time, it may be too late to submit genetic testing evidence. The law that directs this process is C.R.S. § 14-10-124(1.5).

So Summoned

Ву:		Dated:	
☐ Court Clerk	☐ Petitioner's Attorney*		_

^{*} See Box C on page 1 for the attorney's name, registration number, and contact information.