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TWENTIETH JUDICIAL DISTRICT 

BOULDER COUNTY COMBINED COURTS 

 

 
PLEASE NOTE: By law, the Court is not permitted to give you legal advice. This information being provided 

to you is intended to provide clarification and guidance to self-represented litigants. If you require additional 

information, please contact an attorney. 

 

Information for Rule 120 Respondents 
 

If you have been served with court papers indicating that you are a party in a 

foreclosure (Rule 120) action, please read the following information carefully. 
 

What is a Rule 120 proceeding?  
 

Rule 120 is a Colorado Rule of Civil Procedure which addresses “Court Proceedings for Sales Under 

Powers” which essentially means foreclosure.  Foreclosure is a legal process used to take possession of 

property that is the collateral for a loan by forcing the sale of the property after the borrower defaults 

on the terms of the loan. Foreclosures in Colorado must follow the procedure in Rule 120 of the 

Colorado Rules of Civil Procedures. You can read the full Rule online at: 

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/colorado/.  Then click “I agree”  Colorado Court Rules  

Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure  Chapter 17 Court Proceedings: Sales Under Powers 

 

When does the Court hold a Rule 120 hearing?  
 
The Court may hold a hearing to determine if the lender has the right to foreclose on the property and 

have it sold at a public auction. The Court may grant the lender’s request to authorize the sale of the 

property if the borrower does not file an answer with the Court by the response deadline. The court 

may/will set a hearing when a Verified Response to a Rule 120 Notice is filed on or before the response 

deadline. Notice of the hearing will be sent out to the parties involved in the case. The Court may make 

a decision in your case based on what is filed in the case (the pleadings) without holding a hearing.  

 

 

What will happen at Rule 120 hearing? 

 
At the hearing, the judge follows the process outlined in Rule 120(d). S(he) will examine the motion 

and response, and will determine whether there is a reasonable probability that a default (or other 

circumstance authorizing exercise of a power of sale) has occurred.  The judge will then grant or deny 

the motion. 

 

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/colorado/
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How do I file a response?  
 

You must file a Verified Response to a Rule 120 Notice (also called an Answer) by the response date 

listed in the notice. Form JDF 621 (Verified Response to a Rule 120 Notice) is available online: 

http://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/PDF/JDF%20621%20Response%20to%20Rule%20120%20Notic

e.pdf.   

 

Your response must include all defenses that you wish to raise before the Court. You should contact an 

attorney to discuss what defenses, if any, you may have and what information should be provided to the 

Court.  

 

The inability to pay is NOT a defense. Common defenses to a Rule 120 Action include:  

1. The money is not due 

2. The action is barred under the Service Member Civil Relief Act (SCRA), 50 U.S.C. §520 

3. The petitioner is not the real party in interest.  

 

Please be aware that the Court’s review is very limited under Rule 120. The Court can only determine 

whether there is a reasonable probability of default and whether the Service Member Civil Relief Act 

bars this action. 

 

The Verified Response to a Rule 120 Notice and all supporting documents must be filed with the Court 

and served upon (mailed to) the other parties by the response date listed in the notice. You must pay 

$158.00 to file your response unless you qualify to have the fee waived.  Information about filing fee 

waivers is available here: http://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/Forms_List.cfm?Form_Type_ID=176. 

(Use JDF 205 and JDF 206).  

 

What if I am working on a loan modification? 
 

In general, a modification or short sale agreement is between you and your mortgage company. The 

Court cannot intervene unless the agreement is complete and has final approval. You should talk to an 

attorney for more information about a modification agreement and your legal rights.  

 

What if I have filed for bankruptcy?  
 

A bankruptcy may prohibit a Rule 120 action from being filed or from proceeding. You should consult 

a bankruptcy attorney for more information.   

 

I have other questions about my Rule 120 case. 
 

Additional information is available at the Colorado Judicial Branch website: 

1. Residential foreclosures: http://www.courts.state.co.us/Self_Help/residentialforeclosures/ 

2. Verified Response to a Rule 120 Notice form and instructions (JDF 621): 

http://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/Forms_List.cfm?Form_Type_ID=197  

  

http://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/PDF/JDF%20621%20Response%20to%20Rule%20120%20Notice.pdf
http://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/PDF/JDF%20621%20Response%20to%20Rule%20120%20Notice.pdf
http://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/Forms_List.cfm?Form_Type_ID=176
http://www.courts.state.co.us/Self_Help/residentialforeclosures/
http://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/Forms_List.cfm?Form_Type_ID=197
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You may also contact the Self-Represented Litigant Coordinators in Boulder County for help with 

general questions, resources and forms. The Coordinators can be reached at (303) 441-4741 or by e-

mail at BoulderCourtSelfHelp@judicial.state.co.us. You can speak with the coordinators in-person or 

by phone. 

 

You should contact an attorney for legal advice about your case. A HUD-certified housing counselor 

can also provide non-legal information about your loss mitigation options at no charge. Contact 

information for legal and non-legal resources in Boulder County is included in this packet.  

  

mailto:BoulderCourtSelfHelp@judicial.state.co.us
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20
TH

 JUDICIAL DISTRICT RESOURCES 
 

Boulder County Bar Association 
1942 Broadway, Suite 205 

Boulder, CO 80302 

www.boulder-bar.org 

(303) 440-4758 

 * Provides referrals to private attorneys, including attorneys that offer reduced rates 

 

Boulder County Housing Authority 
3482 Broadway St. 

Boulder, CO 80304 

303-441-3929 

www.boulderhousing.org 

* Non-legal housing resource 

 

Boulder County Legal Services (Colorado Legal Services) 
315 W. South Boulder Road 

Louisville, CO 80027 

(303) 449-7575 

www.coloradolegalservices.org 

* Provides free legal representation and advice to qualifying low-income clients 

 

Boulder County Public Trustee 
1790 38

th
 Street, Suite 100 

Boulder, CO 80301 

(303)443-3636 

www.bouldercountypt.org 

* Maintains public information for homeowners facing foreclosure about scheduled sales   

 

Colorado Attorney General – Mortgage Fraud Information Center 
1300 Broadway, 10

th
 Floor 

Denver, CO 80203 

1-800-222-4444 Consumer Line 

www.coloradoattorneygeneral.gov/departments 

 * Receives and investigates mortgage fraud and consumer protection complaints 

 

Colorado Bar Association 
1900 Grant Street, Suite 900 

Denver, CO 80203 

(303) 860-1115 

www.cobar.org  

 * Provides referrals to private attorneys 

 

Colorado Foreclosure Hotline 
1-877-601-HOPE (4673) 

www.coloradoforeclosurehotline.org/ 

* Non-legal housing resource to facilitate referrals to local HUD-approved counseling agencies  

http://www.boulder-bar.org/
http://www.boulderhousing.org/
http://www.coloradolegalservices.org/
http://www.mesacounty.us/publictrustee/
http://www.coloradoattorneygeneral.gov/departments
http://www.cobar.org/
http://www.coloradoforeclosurehotline.org/

