

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 26, 2024

Contact: Suzanne Karrer, Chief Communications Officer

720-595-7045

Suzanne.Karrer@judicial.state.co.us

18th Judicial District Court judge finalists selected

Governor to appoint new district court judge

The Eighteenth Judicial District Nominating Commission has nominated three candidates for a district court judgeship created by the retirement of the Hon. Gary Kramer. The vacancy will occur on August 3, 2024. Nominees Matthew Phillip Schoettle and Donna M. Stewart, both of Castle Rock and Daniel Wilson Warhola of Franktown, were selected in a meeting on June 25, 2024, at the Arapahoe County Combined Courts in Centennial.

Under the Colorado Constitution, the governor has 15 days from June 26, 2024, within which to appoint one of the nominees as a district court judge for the Eighteenth Judicial District (Arapahoe, Douglas, Elbert and Lincoln counties).

Comments regarding any of the nominees may be sent via e-mail to the governor at gov_judicialappointments@state.co.us

Editor's Note: Contact information for the three nominees

- Matthew Phillip Schoettle. The Schoettle Law Firm, 309 Jerry Street, Ste. 100, Castle Rock,
 CO 80104. 720-900-1960
- Donna M. Stewart. 4000 Justice Way, Castle Rock, CO 80109. 720-437-6166
- Daniel Wilson Warhola. 1801 California Street, Ste. 1600, Denver, CO 80202. 303-454-0305

###

The Colorado Judicial Branch works to provide equal access to justice, contribute to public safety, and strengthen the rule of law across Colorado. Together, our courts and probation departments are committed to impartial and timely dispute resolution, support for families, litigants, and victims, client rehabilitation, and meaningful community engagement.