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Timeline
What To Do When Someone Dies

O At Time of Death

Q If Death Occurred in Hospital, Nursing
Home, or Assisted Living Facility

O If Death Occurred at Home
O Organ and Body Donations

0 Arrange for Deceased Person’s Body




Timeline
What To Do When Someone Dies (Cont.)

O One to Three Days after Death

0 Notify Family and Friends
0 Deceased’s Instructions
0 Complete the Funeral and Burial Arrangements

0 Financial Assistance

0 Concerns with Funeral Home? Contact Colorado Funeral Directors Association at (303) 791-2336

Q Other Assistance



Timeline
What To Do When Someone Dies (Cont.)

0 One to Ten Days after Death
0 Death Certificates
0 Contact Persons or Institutions
0O Personal Representative
0O Search for the Will
QO Entry into Safe Deposit Box
0 Search for Other Documents

QO [tems to Look For



Other Information

0 Power of Attorney

0O Take Care Against Unethical

Persons

0 Avoid Immediate Collection of
Benefits

0 Social Security

Q Veterans Benefits




Personal Representative

O A person who is named to
administer an estate, regardless of
whether that person is named in a
will or is appointed because there
ﬁ " was no will

Purpose is to carry out the wishes
of the decedent regarding
distribution of his/her assets, and
to complete the decedent’s
business, such as paying bills and
filing tax returns




Personal Representative (Cont.)

Q Duties in General:
0 Collecting and inventorying the assets of the estate;
0 Managing the assets of the estate during the probate process;
0 Paying the bills;
0 Making distribution to the heirs or beneficiaries of the estate

0O Closing the estate after all of the above responsibilities have been completed

0 Potential Liability



Personal Representative (Cont.)

Opening & Closing: Informal v. Formal?

O Informal Probate

O Formal Probate

Creditors

Authority & Specific Duties
Paying the Bills

Paying the Family
Notification

Paying Taxes

Paying Yourself

Closing the Estate



Probate

O Small Estates
0 Without a Will
a With a Will

Q Process




Three Types of Probates

Small Estates (under $50,000)

QO  Under $50,000 and no real property
0 Including bank accounts and cash

O May collect your assets using an affidavit

Uncontested Estates (informal)

O When there is a valid will or clear intestacy
0 No contests expected

0 Qualified personal representative ready to

be appointed

Contested Estates (formal)

O Also includes invalid or questionable wills

0 Court may require the personal
representative get approval for every
transaction



Will My Estate Have to Go Through Probate!?

O Depends on how your assets were owned when you died
0 Certain types of assets that are not governed or distributed per the terms of the will

O Only assets that were owned by you in your individual name are controlled by the

will

0 Colorado law requires that a decedent’s will be filed (lodged) with the District Court
in which the decedent was domiciled within ten days of the decedent’s passing, even

if no probate administration is expected



Probate Process

0 Generally administered in three ways:

0 (1) Completing an Affidavit for Collection of Personal Property if the total probate estate
assets are less than $50,000 and there is not any real property

0 (2) Filing an informal probate procedure

0 (3) Filing a formal probate procedure

0O Personal Representative must notify any possible and known creditors of decedent

0 Probate instructions and forms are available on the Colorado Judicial Branch website

0 under the “Forms” tab


http://www.court.state.co.us/

Q

O

Q

Q

Do I Need to File Probate Documents with the
@ otrit

Did the Decedent own real estate?

0 The following assets are not counted:
0O Real Estate titled in joint tenancy with a surviving joint tenant

0O Real Estate titled with a beneficiary deed

Did the Decedent own non-real estate assets with a total value greater than $74,000?

0 The following assets are not counted:

0 Assets owned in joint tenancy with a surviving joint tenant

0O Assets with beneficiary designations, such as Payable-on-Death (POD) or Transferable on Death (TOD)
accounts, and some life insurance policies and retirement accounts

[f you answered “No” to both questions, you may not need to file court documents. See
Instructions for Completing Affidavit for Collection of Personal Property (JDF 998)

[f you answered “Yes” to either question you most likely need to file



How Can I File - Formally or Informally?

0O A probate case may be commenced in one of two ways:

0 (1) By Application to the Registrar (Informal Proceeding)

0 (2) By Petition to the Court (Formal Proceeding).



General Information to File Your Case in
Probate Court

0 If the Decedent resided or was domiciled in a Colorado county, the

Application/Petition must be filed in that county

Q If the Decedent resided or was domiciled in another state, the Application/Petition
may be filed in the Colorado County where the Decedent owned property

0 The Court cannot act on an Application or Petition before 120 hours have elapsed

since the time of death
0 The nominated Personal Representative must be 21 years of age or older

0O A creditor cannot file an Application/Petition for Appointment of Personal

Representative until 45 days have lapsed from the date of death



Fees & Forms

Fees:

0 A filing fee of $199 is required

0 If unable to pay, must complete the Motion to File without Payment and Supporting
Financial Affidavit (JDF 205) and submit it to the Court

O Other Fees:
QO Certification of Orders and Letters - $20

0 Copy of Documents - $0.75 per page
Forms

0 To access forms online go to and click on the “Self-

Help/Forms” tab

Q Select Trusts, Estates, and Wills - Decedent’s Estate - New Case - Probate Without a
Will or Probate With a Will


http://www.courts.state.co.us/

Instructions for Probate

Without a Will

0 Steps to Filing Your Case

0 Step 1: Complete Forms

Q Step 2: File Your Papers with
ﬁ " the Court

0 Step 3: Requirements After the
Court Appoints a Personal

Representative

0 Step 4: Closing the Estate




Steps to Filing Your Case

O Step 1: Complete Forms
QO Application for Informal Appointment of Personal Representative (JDF 916)
OR
O Petition for Adjudication of Intestacy and Form Appointment of Personal Representative (JDF 922)
AND
O Acceptance of Appointment (JDF 911)
O Renunciation and/or Nomination of Personal Representative (JDF 912)
O Irrevocable Power of Attorney (JDF 721)
a Notice of Hearing (JDF 711)
O Letters of Administration (JDF 915)
AND
O Order for Informal Appointment of Personal Representative (JDF 917)
OR

Q Order of Intestacy, Determination of Heirs and Formal Appointment of Personal Representative (JDF

923)



Steps to Filing Your Case (Cont.)

0O Step 2: You are Ready to File Your Papers with the Court.

0O Provide the Court with the documents completed in Step 1 above and pay the filing fee

0 Step 3: Requirements After the Court Appoints a Personal Representative
QO Information of Appointment (JDF 940)
0O Notice to Creditors by Publication (JDF 943)
0 Notice to Creditors by Mail or Delivery (JDF 944)
0O Decedent’s Estate Inventory (JDF 941)
QO Interim/Final Accounting (JDF 942)

0 Step 4: Close the Estate

0 Must complete forms to close an estate - Instructions are available online at

under the “Self-Help/Forms” tab and then select “Trusts, Estates,
and Wills”


http://www.courts.state.co.us/

Instructions for Probate

with a Will

0 Steps to Filing Your Case

0 Step 1: Complete Forms

Q Step 2: File Your Papers with
ﬁ " the Court

0 Step 3: Requirements After the
Court Appoints a Personal

Representative

0 Step 4: Closing the Estate




Steps to Filing Your Case

O Step 1: Complete Forms

0 Application for Informal Probate of Will and Informal Appointment of Personal Representative (JDF
910)

OR
O Petition for Formal Probate of Will and Formal Appointment of Personal Representative (JDF 920)
AND

Will (original will must be filed)

Acceptance of Appointment (JDF 911)

[rrevocable Power of Attorney (JDF 721)

Notice of Hearing (JDF 711)

Letters Testamentary (JDF 915)
AND
O Order for Informal Probate of Will and Informal Appointment of Personal Representative (JDF 913)
OR

O Order Admitting Will to Formal Probate and Formal Appointment of Personal Representative (JDF 921)

a
a
O Renunciation and/or Nomination of Personal Representative (JDF 912)
a
a
a



Steps to Filing Your Case (Cont.)

0O Step 2: You are Ready to File Your Papers with the Court

0 Provide the Court with the documents completed in Step 1, the Will, and pay filing fee

0 Step 3: Requirements After the Court Appoints a Personal Representative
QO Information of Appointment (JDF 940)
0 Notice to Creditors by Publication (JDF 943)
0 Notice to Creditors by Mail or Delivery (JDF 944)
0 Decedent’s Estate Inventory (JDF 941)
0 Interim/Final Accounting (JDF 942)

0 Step 4: Close the Estate

Q Personal Representative must complete forms to close an estate. Available at

under the “Self-Help/Forms” tab and select “Trusts, Estates, and
Wills”


http://www.courts.state.co.us/

Ancillary Estate
(Out-Of-State)

0 How Do I Register My Out-Of-

State Paperwork in Colorado!

QO Determine Whether You Meet
the Requirements to Register

Your Out-Of-State Estate

Paperwork in Colorado

O Determine What Information
You Need Before You Start

Your Case

O Determine Where to File Your
Case

0 Fill Out the Paperwork to Start
Your Case




Determine If You Meet the Requirements to
Register Out-Of-State Estate Papers in Colorado

0 If you were named as the Personal Representative of the Estate of a deceased person
in another state, and there are tasks that you need to complete in Colorado having to
do with the estate, you can ask the court in Colorado to register your out-of-state
paperwork.

O You CANNOT register your out-of-state paperwork in Colorado if:

0 (1) There is already a Personal Representative who has been named in Colorado

@R

0 (2) There is a pending case to name a Personal Representative in Colorado



Determine What Information You Need Before
Starting Your Case & Where to File

0 Before you start your case in Colorado, you will need authenticated copies of the

following:

0 (1) The outof-state court’s order appointing you as Personal Representative of the Estate

0 (2) The outof-state court’s Letters or other documents explaining what your authority is
as the Personal Representative of the Estate

0 You should file your paperwork with the district court in the Colorado county where

the property of the deceased person is located



Fill Out the Paperwork to Start Your Case

0O You (the person in charge of the Estate) will be known as the Personal Representative

and the person who has died will be known as “the Deceased” or “the Decedent”

0 Download and complete these forms from the court website:

QO JDF 929: Domiciliary Foreign Personal Representative’s Sworn Statement
0O Must be signed in front of a Notary Public or a Court Clerk

0 Attach authenticated copies of out-of-state orders and Letters or other documents

0 JDF 930: Certificate of Ancillary Filing - Decedent Estate



Collection of Personal
Property of a Decedent

a General Information

| ~. 1 Complete Affidavit




Q

O

Q

Q

Q

Q

General Information
Who May Use JDF 999 (JDF 999 #1) - Successor or Person Acting on Behalf of Successor(s)

When to Use JDF 999 (JDF 999 #2, #3, #4, & #5)
0 (1) At least 10 days have elapsed since the date of death; AND

0 (2) The value of the property of the estate, less liens and encumbrances, does not exceed

$74,000 if Year of Death was 2022; AND

0 (3) The appointment of a personal representative is not pending nor has been granted by
a Court in Colorado or any other state

Description of Assets and Successor Proportions (JDF 999 #6 & #7)

Responsibilities of Successor or Person Acting on Behalf of Successor(s) (JDF 999 #8 & #9)
How to Use JDF 999

Other Notes on Use of JDF 999



Complete Affidavit

0 To access the Affidavit form online go to and click on the

“Self Help/Forms” Tab. Then select Trusts, Estates, and Wills.
0 Complete the Affidavit
0O Sign the Affidavit before a Notary Public. Each entity you work with will keep a copy

of the Affidavit. You may wish to have your signature notarized on several copies

0 Attach a copy of the death certificate. Some entities may require a certified copy of
the death certificate

0O Present the Affidavit and death certificate to the holder of the assets, e.g. bank. You
may wish to have a copy of these instructions to present to the bank identifying the

authority to file the Affidavit


http://www.courts.state.co.us/

Fees and Other Expenses

0 Attorney Fees

Q Costs associated with

administration
0 Including Court Fees

0 Payment of decedent’s final

expenses and legitimate debts




Questions!

0 12t Judicial District Self-Represented Litigant Coordinator

a Lisa Mizell - (719) 589-7621

d


mailto:12selfhelp@judicial.state.co.us
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